The Tales of Beedle the Bard

By J. K. Rowling. Format: Hardcover. Read: July 2012.
The Tales of Beedle the Bard is a fairy tale book from the Harry Potter series. Fans who have read all seven books in the series, will know about this book and be very familiar with one of the tales. There are five tales total: “The Wizard and the Hopping Pot,” “The Fountain of Fair Fortune,” “The Warlock’s Hairy Heart,” “Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump” and of course “The Tale of the Three Brothers.” Each tale is similar to a regular fairy tale, in the sense that there is a lesson to be learned, however Rowling adds her own magical flare to each. This is a must-read for all the Potter fans in the world.
I must warn you that this book contains spoilers from the series, so please (for my own peace of mind) read all seven Harry Potter books first. I have two favorite tales from this book. The first “The Fountain of Fair Fortune” has a wonderful life lesson, while “Babbitty Rabbitty and Her Cackling Stump” made me laugh out loud. Rowling has co-created a charity called Children’s High Level Group, and Scholastic has donated the net proceeds from the sales of this book, which is another good reason to go out and purchase this book. After you have read the book, let me know which tale is your favorite.
Enjoy! ~Ariesgrl


Filed under Children's Books, Fiction Books, Young Adult Books

3 Responses to The Tales of Beedle the Bard

  1. As a fan of the Harry Potter series, I am looking foward to reading these tales. I am currently re-reading the series now and hope to read this book afterwards. This review has made be both excited and anxious to get to reading!

  2. Thank you Dana! I loved the Harry Potter series and this book gave me more insight into the wizard world that Harry, Ron and Hermione live in. Enjoy rediscovering the series, and I hope you enjoy this book as much as I did.
    Thanks for commenting,

  3. Pingback: A Year in Review #5 Part 1 | Ariesgrl Book Reviews

What are your thoughts?